I Have Loved the Stars Too Fondly to be Fearful of the Night

Pliedes

 

Moonless starry sky

peeks through a lace cloud curtain.

Pleiades appears.

This is sort of an early ‘heads up’. Mark your calendars for August 12th. That’s my birthday as well as the peak of the Perseids meteor shower. If God ordained that I should be born on the date of the annual Perseids meteor shower then the least I should do is give thanks and stay up to watch the show. I’ve been doing this every year since I was about twelve years old and I’m turning 69, if all goes as planned. That’s fifty-seven years of watching falling stars light up the night sky.  I have friends around the country and in other countries who go out to watch the Perseids for my birthday.  It’s sort of a gift that they give themselves for my birthday. I invite you to join in. Just let me know what you see. This should be a good year.

I delight in the night sky.

perseid

(The title comes from the poem “The Old Astronomer” by Sarah Williams, 1837 – 1868)

The Home Place — 2017

3 thoughts on “I Have Loved the Stars Too Fondly to be Fearful of the Night

  1. This year (2017) was a little different. I had to chase away three coyotes who were upset and “singing” about 60 feet away. I live in the desert and they take a shortcut through my back yard and out my driveway but were too wary to go by with me sitting outside so they started vocalizing out of frustration.

    Like

Leave a Reply

